Second Trimester!!!!

Last week marked my entry into my second trimester, yaaaaaaaaaaay. So far, so good. I’ve actually started gaining weight again (and it’s really weird that I’m happy about it, but I lost 5 pounds in the first trimester due to nausea / heartburn / I’m not sure). I’m still dog tired, but the heartburn is beginning to resolve itself, either because my body has decided to give me a break or that the papaya enzymes are actually working.

I’ve heard the second trimester referred to as the honeymoon trimester and I’m crossing my fingers that’s the case. I’ve restarted Body Pump on very light weights per the midwife and may start walk/jogging again (I tried once but it gave me lower abdominal pain, so I’m not sure I want to try again). I miss wine and spicy foods, but I didn’t have either that frequently, so I’m not feeling the lack that much. I really miss coffee, especially since it’s becoming iced coffee season. But I’ve had it occasionally and it’s not been that bad, so maybe it’ll be a weekend treat. I’ve decreased my walking, since the fatigue has made me even less likely to get out of bed to walk the dog and then walk a mile to work, but I need to get back to it, even if it means going to bed at 9pm.

I’m finishing up my grad school classes for the spring, which is fun when all you want to do is sleep and watch bad TV. I’ve got two summer sessions so I can just take one class in the fall and two in the spring and still graduate on time. I should be able to do it, I think, but it’s nerve wracking and part of me just wants to drop the program and focus on fixing up the house and being pregnant. But I have to ignore that part (and continue to work on fixing up the house in between papers).

Overall, though, I still don’t really feel pregnant. No weird cravings or anything, except for cheese & ice cream, which I basically wanted all the time anyway. I’m not sure how I’m expecting to feel, but I thought I’d feel different. (But Christina, you say, perhaps the fatigue, heartburn and how difficult exercise is are indicators that things are different? WHATEVER) It’s funny, I don’t feel pregnant in day to day life, I just feel fat. Fatter. You get the idea. I’m sure it’ll be different when the kid starts kicking or when my stomach pops, but it still just weirds me out.

3 thoughts on “Second Trimester!!!!

  1. Sparkles

    Hey Magical Unicorn. I found you on the APW happy hour a few weeks ago and I’m really excited about your blog. I’m 8 weeks along, so a little behind you, and I’m excited to follow along. It’s my first, and I’m a little weirded out by the whole thing. I don’t feel pregnant either, and I’m trying not to be too excited, because it seems like pregnancy things can change really suddenly. But thanks for the blog. I’m digging it.
    P.S. I’m trying to do lots of reading. If you’ve got any suggestions for good reading (or more podcasts, going to check out those one you linked), share, please! So far I’ve gotten “The Mother of All Pregnancy Books” from the library, which I’m finding pretty legit.

    Reply
    1. kestrel127 Post author

      Hi Sparkles! I did actually like the Mayo Book. I haven’t read What to Expect yet, but I haven’t heard great things. If you’re into hippie / homebirth / drug free birth, check out writings by Ina May Gaskin. She’s also got a TED Talk. I did also read Your Practical Pregnancy Planner, which I liked for legal and medical considerations. I’m avoiding Baby Center like the plaque, but have been enjoying Pregnant Chicken, which has a great pregnancy calendar and some nice recommendations.

      Reply
  2. Sarah

    I was just talking to my best friend about her pregnancy, and she said the same thing about feeling fat, not pregnant. That didn’t change for her until her third trimester. So who knows?

    So thrilled for you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

